Montana Real Estate Continuing Education Courses

Home / Continuing Education / Montana

Filter By
Select Your State
Education Type
Course Type

Montana Continuing Education Requirements:

Total Hours Mandatory Elective
You Need: 12 0 12
We Offer: 12 0 12

Montana State Requirement Details for Real Estate Continuing Education

Renewal Date: 10/31 each year

Hours Required: 12 hours

Note: No duplicate credit will be granted for repeating a course in the same reporting period/license year.

The CE Shop’s Offering: 12 hours

Reporting: The state does not require schools to report course completions.

Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary by course but are generally one year after order date. Each individual course will have an expiration date listed in your account. 

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 75% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.

Certificates: Immediately upon real estate course completion, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic copy of the course certificate of completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies at a later time. Please refer to your renewal application to determine if you need to submit your certificate(s) of completion with your renewal. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date on your certificate of completion will reflect this.

License Renewal Process: The process to renew in this state is to log in to the licensing system online and follow the prompts to renew. 

Property Manager: New property management licensees are required to complete their 12 hours by the second renewal date, and four of those hours must consist of a course in property management trust accounts. The CE Shop currently does not offer this course.

Post-Licensing: All new Salespeople will receive a license that will expire October 31st. As required by ARM, 24.210.611, you must complete the New License Mandatory Continuing Education class (commonly referred to as "the 12-hour Rookie Course"). Per ARM 24.210.661, the 12-hour rookie course must be completed within 120 days following your original license issue date. If no rookie course is offered within the 120-day period, you must complete the class when the class is next offered unless the new salesperson licensee's deadline for completing the rookie course is extended for good cause at the board's discretion. The CE Shop currently does not offer this course.

Supervising Brokers: Each licensing year, a Supervising Broker must complete 12 hours of Continuing Education. 4 of those hours must be board-approved education in the area of Supervising Broker Continuing Education as designated by the board.  The CE Shop currently does not offer this course. 

Still have questions? Visit our Frequently Asked Questions or Contact Us.

Montana Board of Realty Regulation

Street Address: 301 South Park, 4th Floor, PO Box 200513, Helena, MT 59620-0513

Telephone: 406.444.6880 or 406.444.5711

Fax: 406.841.2323

License Renewal Website

License Lookup Website

CE Transcript Website

Contact MT Board of Realty Regulation via Email