• 888.827.0777
  • Cart

Iowa Continuing Education Courses

Home / Continuing Education / Iowa

Filter By
Select Your State
Education Type
Course Type



Iowa Continuing Education Requirements:

Total Hours Mandatory Elective Hours
You Need: 36 12 24
We Offer: 24 (only 24 hrs. can be online) 4 24
License Renewal Period: 3 years

Iowa Requirement Details for Real Estate Continuing Education

The CE Shop is an approved real estate CE School in Iowa; license number 244

Continuing Education and License Renewal Date: 12/31 every three years

Hours Required By The State: 36 hours

  • 12 mandatory hours
    • 8 hours law update
    • 4 hours ethics
  • 24 elective hours

 The CE Shop's Offering: 28 hours*

  • 4 mandatory hours in ethics
  • 24 elective hours

*Per Iowa state regulations, only 24 CE hours can be completed online.

Seat time: The Iowa Real Estate Commission requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online system manages this requirement for you.

Reporting: The state does not require schools to report CE hours.

Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary by course but are generally 6 months after order date per Iowa rules. Each course has an individual expiration date which is listed in your account.

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 90% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

Additional Licensing Information:

License Renewal Process: The process to renew in this state is to log in to the licensing system online and follow the prompts to renew. https://eservices.iowa.gov/licensediniowa/renewal/

The Iowa Real Estate Commission only allows licensees to complete 24 hours of the total 36-hour requirement in an online environment. It is the licensees' responsibility to ensure they do not complete over 24 hours in an online environment.

Post-Licensing: All Salespersons that are renewing for the first time must complete the following 36 hours of Commission-approved education: 12 hours of Developing Professionalism & Ethical Practices, 12 hours of Buying Practices, and 12 hours of Listing Practices.